Menu creation ... confusion

Discuss anything ProShow Gold related
.
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2016 6:31 pm

Menu creation ... confusion

Postby danna » Fri Aug 05, 2016 4:40 am

I did not use the wizard.

Have all my images and audio setup as wanted. Will output to DVD for playback on TV.

Little confused by the menu creation.

Images are of a wedding and were brought into the program in order
( prep, church, reception, cake, dancing, etc. )

As is, the show plays from beginning to end.
Show is only about 24 minutes, but would like to add a link, to point to each section. ( prep, church, reception, cake, dancing, etc. )

I do not see how to ad a menu with a link to each section.

... and on preview I do not even see a menu.

Esteemed Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 2:22 pm
Location: France

Re: Menu creation ... confusion

Postby Marie78 » Fri Aug 05, 2016 12:27 pm

Hello

You have to create several shows, then cut your show, if you want to have sections on the DVD.
Chris Marie

.
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2016 6:31 pm

Re: Menu creation ... confusion

Postby danna » Fri Aug 05, 2016 12:43 pm

Marie78 wrote:Hello

You have to create several shows, then cut your show, if you want to have sections on the DVD.


Searched for "cut show" in help file, but could not find it.

Is that similar to "combining shows" ?

Thanks

.
User avatar
Posts: 264
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 10:53 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia

Re: Menu creation ... confusion

Postby obeeone » Fri Aug 05, 2016 2:47 pm

Hi

As far as I'm aware you can't create chapters in Prowshow you would need to do it in an external video program like Sony Vegus. Or you could make each section an individual show and do a separate menu for each.

Carl
Photodex Gallery: http://www.photodex.com/share/obeeone

There are 10 types of people who understand binary:
Those who do and those who don't.

.
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2016 6:31 pm

Re: Menu creation ... confusion

Postby danna » Fri Aug 05, 2016 4:40 pm

obeeone wrote:Hi

As far as I'm aware you can't create chapters in Prowshow
Carl


Chapters ... that's what it's called.

Surprised that it does not do that.

Thanks for the reply.

Esteemed Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 2:22 pm
Location: France

Re: Menu creation ... confusion

Postby Marie78 » Sat Aug 06, 2016 3:59 am

Hi
danna wrote:
Marie78 wrote:Hello

You have to create several shows, then cut your show, if you want to have sections on the DVD.


Searched for "cut show" in help file, but could not find it.

Is that similar to "combining shows" ?

Thanks


You duplicate your show as manu time as chapters, then delete the slide not belonging to the chapter.
Chris Marie

.
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2016 6:31 pm

Re: Menu creation ... confusion

Postby danna » Sat Aug 06, 2016 8:28 am

Marie78 wrote:You duplicate your show as manu time as chapters, then delete the slide not belonging to the chapter.


Thanks for the reply ... but sorry, do not understand.

Esteemed Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 2:22 pm
Location: France

Re: Menu creation ... confusion

Postby Marie78 » Sat Aug 06, 2016 11:07 am

Hi

If you have 5 chapters : duplicate the show 5 times so to have 5 copy called chapter1, chaper2, ... Keep the original in safe place.

Then in the fist copy (chapter1), delete all slides which do not belong to chapter 1 : if after the 20th slides, chapter 2 begins, delete all slides for 21 to the end.
Save the show and close it.
Open the second copy (chapter2). Delete the slides corresponding to chapter 1 (20 in my example) then go to first slide which belong to chaper3 and delete all slides from this one to the end.
Repeat this for next chapters so to get separate shows, each containing only one chapter slides.

Then in the menu you can create 5 chapters, plus the loop all.
Chris Marie

.
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2016 6:31 pm

Re: Menu creation ... confusion

Postby danna » Sun Aug 07, 2016 2:35 pm

Thanks for that explanation Chris.

... but geez, all that to have a chapter menu ... and if I understand that correctly,
the chapter menu's will be on different pages.

I'm disappointed with Gold's menu process (not sure if Producer is better)

Will probably look for alternatives.

Thanks again for the help ... not only this thread,
but the kind souls that answered the other questions I've asked.

Esteemed Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 2:22 pm
Location: France

Re: Menu creation ... confusion

Postby Marie78 » Mon Aug 08, 2016 12:54 am

Hello

You can have all your chapters on the same page of the menu.

Producer as nothing more on that point.

When you buy a DVD there are several files not one for one film.

You could probably export from Proshow in a uncompressed format then use a specific video software to generate chapters from that output but I do not know those sofwares and I am not sure you can find free ones.

Next time, create several shows : the final assembly will give the whole film on your DVD.
Chris Marie

.
User avatar
Posts: 7479
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 6:35 pm
Location: Kirkland,Wash, USA, Earth

Re: Menu creation ... confusion

Postby gpsmikey » Mon Aug 08, 2016 6:39 am

Chris is correct - we have asked for the ability to have chapters, but so far that has not been added. You can (as Chris says) have multiple shorter shows (which is actually a good idea) that they can view on the DVD. I have actually mostly quit using DVD's these days - most of the modern TV's have a USB port on them and can handle mp4 files on a flash drive. I just create 1 (or more) shorter shows as mp4, put them on a flash drive and plug it into the TV. They play very nicely and are better resolution than a standard DVD (a standard DVD is 480 - I tend to create my shows in 720p which looks really good on our 60 inch TV in the living room). Another advantage to the files in a mp4 format - you can use something like dropbox (free version) and let people grab a copy from there anywhere in the world without having to send physical media.

mikey
You can't have too many gadgets or too much disk space !!
mikey (PSP6, Photoshop CS6, Vegas Pro 12, Acid 7, BluffTitler, Nikon D70s, D300s, D810)
Lots of PIC microprocessor stuff too !!

.
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2016 6:31 pm

Re: Menu creation ... confusion

Postby danna » Tue Aug 09, 2016 3:06 am

Marie78 wrote:Hello

You can have all your chapters on the same page of the menu.


Thanks ... just cannot figure out how to get it done.

.
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2016 6:31 pm

Re: Menu creation ... confusion

Postby danna » Tue Aug 09, 2016 3:10 am

gpsmikey wrote:Chris is correct - we have asked for the ability to have chapters, but so far that has not been added. You can (as Chris says) have multiple shorter shows (which is actually a good idea) that they can view on the DVD. I have actually mostly quit using DVD's these days - most of the modern TV's have a USB port on them and can handle mp4 files on a flash drive. I just create 1 (or more) shorter shows as mp4, put them on a flash drive and plug it into the TV. They play very nicely and are better resolution than a standard DVD (a standard DVD is 480 - I tend to create my shows in 720p which looks really good on our 60 inch TV in the living room). Another advantage to the files in a mp4 format - you can use something like dropbox (free version) and let people grab a copy from there anywhere in the world without having to send physical media.
mikey


Thanks for your suggestions ... the flash drive idea sounds good.
... cause I can't wrap my head around Gold's menu creation fiasco.

.
User avatar
Posts: 478
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 1:15 pm

Re: Menu creation ... confusion

Postby ginger » Tue Aug 09, 2016 3:23 am

Hi,

See if this helps.

http://www.proshowenthusiasts.com/viewt ... 79#p170188


ginger

Edit: Tried to add specific post to url.
Last edited by ginger on Tue Aug 09, 2016 7:29 am, edited 2 times in total.

Esteemed Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 2:22 pm
Location: France

Re: Menu creation ... confusion

Postby Marie78 » Tue Aug 09, 2016 3:24 am

Hello
danna wrote:
Marie78 wrote:Hello
You can have all your chapters on the same page of the menu.


Thanks ... just cannot figure out how to get it done.


I never create DVD either and have Producer (in French) but I think this part is the same :
In the second tab of the DVD creation Windows (probably titled Shows) : add the shows you want tu put on the DVD
In the tab Menu, rigth bottom, choose a template with 6 or 8 thumbnails according to your need
Then set the others parameters you need...

Edit : Hi Ginger, this help will probably be better than min ;-)
Chris Marie

Next

Return to PSG - General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest