Music copyrights and you, basics

Not sure if what you want to post fits in the other forums? Post it here!
ProShow Hall of Fame

Music copyrights and you, basics

Postby DickK » Sat Aug 16, 2008 12:05 pm

This is in an issue which comes up many times so I've summarized the basics here. This is not complete if you're doing slideshows for hire. I'm not a lawyer and don't play one on TV but here's what I believe is true:

Issue: Using commercial, copyright-protected audio probably violates your license.
You may not have realized it, but when you purchased a CD or an online music file, what you purchased typically wasn't the music but the physical media (for a CD) and a license to do a few things with the music—mainly listen to it. One of the things you typically don't have the right to do is to incorporate that music into something else, i.e., create a "derivative work.". If creating a derivative work, like a video slideshow, violates the license, you could be subject to legal action.

Fix: Obtain a license for the purpose: creating a derivative, multimedia work.

Obstacle: Finding the entity holding the rights and obtaining an individual license for the purpose can be difficult-to-impossible. No single entity exists. The various entities aren't set up to handle lots of tiny license negotiations and they have no incentive to deal with you—until you violate the license and they can recover damages, there's insufficient money involved for them. Yep, classic Catch-22 stuff.

Issue: Online, public posting of your slideshow may violate terms of the license for the music.
One of the other things you probably don't have the right to do with the music is create a public performance unless you also negotiate for that right and perhaps pay a public performance fee (one type of royalty payment). Now whether posting your show online is a public performance is fuzzy and AFAIK untested in court.

Fix: If required, license it for public performance with or without fee.