What causes the forum to "forget me" ??

Not sure if what you want to post fits in the other forums? Post it here!
.
User avatar
Posts: 7500
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 6:35 pm
Location: Kirkland,Wash, USA, Earth

What causes the forum to "forget me" ??

Postby gpsmikey » Fri Feb 02, 2007 10:15 am

OK, I have seen others with this issue, but anybody have any idea
what causes the Enthusiasts forum to suddenly "forget me" :?:
(actually, I suspect it is a winders thing ... ) I have it configured
from IE so that when I go to the forum it automagically logs me
in. Works fine for some period of time (that may be dependant on
the phase of the moon, Bill Gates hair length etc.) All of a sudden,
I have to log in again and check the box to "remember me".
Have not seen this with other forums - anybody else with this issue
recently ... yes, I realize the world is not going to stop turning,
but it is a bit irritating when I do a quick check and it looks like
there are no new messages (all blue arrows) then I realize I
am not logged in again. Seems like it happens maybe 1 or 2
times a week or less. XP Pro, SP2, IE6 :?

mikey
You can't have too many gadgets or too much disk space !!
mikey (PSP6, Photoshop CS6, Vegas Pro 14, Acid 7, BluffTitler, Nikon D300s, D810)
Lots of PIC and Arduino microprocessor stuff too !!

ProShow Hall of Fame
User avatar
Posts: 3043
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 10:10 am
Location: Scotland

Postby briancbb » Fri Feb 02, 2007 10:47 am

Mikey
You're not the only one.

The times I have opened the index page and thought 'Strange, no new messages'. Only to open the page a few hours later and still find no new messages. It takes my old brain ages before it sinks in that I have not been automatically logged on. Unless you look closely at the index page heading, I never do, the forum looks inactive.

As you express so well it seems to be very infrequent, but quite random. If I had done a clean out of 'cookies' etc I might have expected it but I've done no housecleaning (I'm quite bad at that).

Mind you this isn't the only forum it happens on, so you're quite right must be the length of Bill Gates hair.

Brian

Honorary ProShow PHD
User avatar
Posts: 717
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 6:31 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Postby Tarafrost » Fri Feb 02, 2007 10:56 am

Mikey:

Maybe you're just a "forgettable" kind of guy? ;-)

It's probably a browser cookie that has an expiration date/time of a few days. So every once in a while you need to log back in.
....Andrzej (aka: the curmudgeon)

Tarafrost Photography: Specializing in Wild-Life
http://www.tarafrost.com

.
User avatar
Posts: 7500
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 6:35 pm
Location: Kirkland,Wash, USA, Earth

Postby gpsmikey » Fri Feb 02, 2007 11:04 am

The "time based cookie" idea had occurred to me, but sometimes
(like this morning) it has happened twice and yet other times I
can go for a week without a problem. Maybe you're right - they
are trying to tell me something (it took me almost a week to get
"unbanned" this week over in the yahoo group - the moderator
had accidentally zapped me in the process of killing spammers)
(I had made a funny comment on one) and it took us a while
to un-zap me. One of those weeks. I think I'm going to stick
with the Bill Gates "hair length" idea. :wink:

Which reminds me -- why are they called "cookies" ?
"craplets" would be more appropriate :lol:

mikey
You can't have too many gadgets or too much disk space !!
mikey (PSP6, Photoshop CS6, Vegas Pro 14, Acid 7, BluffTitler, Nikon D300s, D810)
Lots of PIC and Arduino microprocessor stuff too !!

Honorary ProShow PHD
User avatar
Posts: 717
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 6:31 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Postby Tarafrost » Fri Feb 02, 2007 11:17 am

As to why they are cookies, check out the History section here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WWW_cookie

As for "craplets", that term is more appropriate as a label for different Windows versions (of which you can now see a whole "vista" of crap both historically and into the future), and for the Photodex bowel movements which drop a new PSP release every week or so.

At least they are "regular", in that regard. ;-)
....Andrzej (aka: the curmudgeon)

Tarafrost Photography: Specializing in Wild-Life
http://www.tarafrost.com

.
User avatar
Posts: 7500
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 6:35 pm
Location: Kirkland,Wash, USA, Earth

Postby gpsmikey » Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:05 pm

Yeah, I was familiar with the cookies thing - my mind sort of wandered
off for a while there. It should be back any time now.

I always liked the quote someone had as a sig line:

"It said install windows NT or better, so I installed Linux"

mikey
You can't have too many gadgets or too much disk space !!
mikey (PSP6, Photoshop CS6, Vegas Pro 14, Acid 7, BluffTitler, Nikon D300s, D810)
Lots of PIC and Arduino microprocessor stuff too !!

Honorary ProShow PHD
User avatar
Posts: 717
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 6:31 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Postby Tarafrost » Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:14 pm

gpsmikey wrote:"It said install windows NT or better, so I installed Linux"


That's a keeper! Thanks....
....Andrzej (aka: the curmudgeon)

Tarafrost Photography: Specializing in Wild-Life
http://www.tarafrost.com

ProShow Hall of Fame
User avatar
Posts: 3143
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 7:42 pm
Location: Northern Virginia

Postby DickK » Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:25 pm

gpsmikey wrote:The "time based cookie" idea had occurred to me, but sometimes
(like this morning) it has happened twice and yet other times I
can go for a week without a problem.

Don't know either but I've seen it happen and not just here. Somehow the cookie gets deleted but I don't know how since I keep those on my exceptions list for the cookie and crap cleaner-upper program. <shrug>
"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it." Aristotle ((PSG, PSE & Fuji HS20 user)) Presentation Impact Blog

.
User avatar
Posts: 7500
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 6:35 pm
Location: Kirkland,Wash, USA, Earth

Postby gpsmikey » Fri Feb 02, 2007 3:04 pm

So then, we can assume that our machines have "tossed their cookies" ?? :lol:

mikey
You can't have too many gadgets or too much disk space !!
mikey (PSP6, Photoshop CS6, Vegas Pro 14, Acid 7, BluffTitler, Nikon D300s, D810)
Lots of PIC and Arduino microprocessor stuff too !!

Honorary ProShow PHD
User avatar
Posts: 717
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 6:31 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Postby Tarafrost » Fri Feb 02, 2007 3:17 pm

That would sum it up!
....Andrzej (aka: the curmudgeon)

Tarafrost Photography: Specializing in Wild-Life
http://www.tarafrost.com

.
User avatar
Posts: 7500
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 6:35 pm
Location: Kirkland,Wash, USA, Earth

Postby gpsmikey » Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:32 am

OK, I think I have a clue what is going on here -- if I select the
forum from my toolbar when I am on the regular Comcast page
(which I have set as my home page), I often end up getting
forgotten (3 times in one day yesterday). If I go to a different
page first (like the Astronomy Picture of the Day - another favorite),
where there is none of the Comcast "stuff" running on the page
for "the fan" and other junk, it has yet to get confused and miss
logging me in correctly (so far anyway). For the others that were
seeing this issue, try going to the forum after going to a
web page that does not have active stuff on it and see if that
helps.

Or, maybe as suggested earlier, I'm just that forgettable :lol:

mikey
You can't have too many gadgets or too much disk space !!
mikey (PSP6, Photoshop CS6, Vegas Pro 14, Acid 7, BluffTitler, Nikon D300s, D810)
Lots of PIC and Arduino microprocessor stuff too !!

.
User avatar
Posts: 7500
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 6:35 pm
Location: Kirkland,Wash, USA, Earth

Postby gpsmikey » Thu Feb 08, 2007 5:15 pm

Well, for what it's worth, I now STRONGLY suspect
that going to this group from a web page with active "stuff"
(like the comcast home page) is the issue. Since I have
been going to a static page BEFORE selecting this group,
I have not had it forget me once in a week or so (down
from 2 or 3 times a day sometimes).

mikey
You can't have too many gadgets or too much disk space !!
mikey (PSP6, Photoshop CS6, Vegas Pro 14, Acid 7, BluffTitler, Nikon D300s, D810)
Lots of PIC and Arduino microprocessor stuff too !!

.
User avatar
Posts: 773
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 3:01 pm
Location: First house on the right after you go around the curve...(John Lennon is on my shirt)

Postby imabeatlelover » Mon Feb 12, 2007 8:32 pm

I could never forget you Mikey.....

Pat

.
User avatar
Posts: 7500
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 6:35 pm
Location: Kirkland,Wash, USA, Earth

Postby gpsmikey » Thu Feb 15, 2007 12:00 pm

Thanks Pat :D

A lot of people have told me that -- I'm still not sure
if that is a good thing :lol:

mikey
You can't have too many gadgets or too much disk space !!
mikey (PSP6, Photoshop CS6, Vegas Pro 14, Acid 7, BluffTitler, Nikon D300s, D810)
Lots of PIC and Arduino microprocessor stuff too !!

Return to Odds & Ends

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests