Extra SSD HD

Not sure if what you want to post fits in the other forums? Post it here!
.
User avatar
Posts: 481
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 12:12 pm
Location: Whidbey Island, Wa.

Extra SSD HD

Postby weldr » Fri Sep 02, 2016 10:06 am

I got a free Samsung SSD HD. Would it be worth installing and putting Producer and Elements on it or just use it for storage? Thanks, Don
I just noticed how long I've been a member. I've learned so much here!
Canon EOS 50D,PSE7,Latest Producer, new computer...don't know specs off hand but runs Producer with no problems.

Esteemed Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 2:22 pm
Location: France

Re: Extra SSD HD

Postby Marie78 » Fri Sep 02, 2016 11:31 am

Hi

I supposed, as you say Extra, that our OS is already on a SSD.

It's more interesting to get fast start of OS and software, especially heavy sofwares as Photoshop and probably Producer.

You can store images, music and video, if you use them often in your shows.

For archive storage, it's as our old people say here, giving jam to pigs, but you can do it.
Chris Marie

.
Posts: 1623
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 5:28 pm
Location: near Chicago - Illinois USA

Re: Extra SSD HD

Postby heckydog » Fri Sep 02, 2016 5:59 pm

The first question I would ask is what size is the SSD?

It would be a pity to use it just for storage, regardless of the size.

And if you can't put all your programs on it, and still have 1/2 of the space left, then that would be risky, imho.

Joe

.
User avatar
Posts: 481
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 12:12 pm
Location: Whidbey Island, Wa.

Re: Extra SSD HD

Postby weldr » Tue Sep 06, 2016 9:02 am

My C drive is 111GB with 30GB free space. The extra one is 250GB.
Canon EOS 50D,PSE7,Latest Producer, new computer...don't know specs off hand but runs Producer with no problems.

.
Posts: 1623
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 5:28 pm
Location: near Chicago - Illinois USA

Re: Extra SSD HD

Postby heckydog » Tue Sep 06, 2016 2:24 pm

weldr wrote:My C drive is 111GB with 30GB free space. The extra one is 250GB.


Looks to me like it would be ideal as your new C drive.

You should have gotten migration software with the SSD. If it's a Samsung SSD everything should be there to optimize the SSD for your system. I have a Samsung EVO 840 and it was a simple process to get it set up and switched over. If it's another manufacturer I would assume they have their own comparable software.

Joe

.
User avatar
Posts: 481
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 12:12 pm
Location: Whidbey Island, Wa.

Re: Extra SSD HD

Postby weldr » Tue Sep 06, 2016 8:57 pm

Thanks Joe. I have another minor issue with my computer. Going to take it in. Hard to get by for a couple days with out it.
Canon EOS 50D,PSE7,Latest Producer, new computer...don't know specs off hand but runs Producer with no problems.

.
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 7:31 pm
Location: Eastern Ontario, Canada

Re: Extra SSD HD

Postby PhotoMill » Sat Oct 22, 2016 6:08 pm

Have to agree with Heckydog on this one !!
Tax me...
I'm Canadian, eh?

Canon 50D, Epson 4990 Scanner, Epson R1800 printer
Lumapix, Paint Shop Pro X6, ProShow Producer 6
Video Studio Pro X5

Return to Odds & Ends

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests