ProShow Enthusiasts site

Not sure if what you want to post fits in the other forums? Post it here!
Honorary ProShow PHD
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:18 am
Location: Nanaimo, B.c. Canada

ProShow Enthusiasts site

Postby Rosemary » Sun May 17, 2015 7:53 am

Hi everyone,
Is anyone else experiencing the ProShow Enthusiasts web page being very slow to load and then the sub forums eg "General Discussions" etc take a long time too?

Thanks,

Rosemary

Esteemed Member
Posts: 250
Joined: Sat May 30, 2009 4:58 am
Location: Crowborough, East Sussex, U.K.

Re: ProShow Enthusiasts site

Postby des.tom » Sun May 17, 2015 9:08 am

The Enthusiasts' site has been very slow for some time on my fibre optic set up.

Des

Honorary ProShow PHD
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:18 am
Location: Nanaimo, B.c. Canada

Re: ProShow Enthusiasts site

Postby Rosemary » Sun May 17, 2015 9:29 am

Thanks Des,

I was beginning to think that it was my computer.

Rosemary

.
Posts: 1710
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 5:28 pm
Location: near Chicago - Illinois USA

Re: ProShow Enthusiasts site

Postby heckydog » Sun May 17, 2015 1:58 pm

Haven't noticed any issues here with overall speed.

The only issues I've noticed in the past is when I post a reply to a thread it seems to take a long time to post. But that's been an ongoing problem for a long time.

Joe

.
User avatar
Posts: 486
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 12:12 pm
Location: Whidbey Island, Wa.

Re: ProShow Enthusiasts site

Postby weldr » Sun May 17, 2015 5:50 pm

Yesterday and today has slowed down big time. This is the only slow site I visit. Every other site loads quickly. I also thought it was just me.
Canon EOS 50D,PSE7,Latest Producer, new computer...don't know specs off hand but runs Producer with no problems.

Honorary ProShow PHD
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:18 am
Location: Nanaimo, B.c. Canada

Re: ProShow Enthusiasts site

Postby Rosemary » Sun May 17, 2015 6:06 pm

Thanks everyone. Now I know it is not a problem this end.

Rosemary

.
User avatar
Posts: 442
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 12:26 am
Location: South Australia

Re: ProShow Enthusiasts site

Postby Diane48 » Sun May 17, 2015 6:45 pm

Frustratingly slow here. I wondered if it was because I hadn't logged out for quite a while but after logging out and in again it is no different.
Cheers Diane

.
User avatar
Posts: 9321
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 12:37 pm
Location: E. Greenbush, NY

Re: ProShow Enthusiasts site

Postby BarbaraC » Wed May 20, 2015 8:42 am

Enthusiasts is the slowest forum I've ever experienced. I see it mostly in posting, which can, at times, be painfully slow to the point where it times out. I don't know if it's the host Mike uses or perhaps the type of service he uses at the host. If it's the latter, we have to remember the cost comes out of his own pocket.

Barbara
The Frame Locker - styles, transitions, frames, backgrounds, & more.
Subscribe to Frame Locker News for alerts to new products.
How-to's: ProShowThink

.
User avatar
Posts: 7500
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 6:35 pm
Location: Kirkland,Wash, USA, Earth

Re: ProShow Enthusiasts site

Postby gpsmikey » Wed May 20, 2015 9:58 am

I agree with Barbara - generally loads fast, but I have had it time out on a post ..... think think think think think think .... oh, you have arrived at hosticam or whatever that name is. Periodically happens for me.

mikey
You can't have too many gadgets or too much disk space !!
mikey (PSP6, Photoshop CS6, Vegas Pro 14, Acid 7, BluffTitler, Nikon D300s, D810)
Lots of PIC and Arduino microprocessor stuff too !!

.
User avatar
Posts: 343
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 6:06 am
Location: Sumter, South Carolina

Re: ProShow Enthusiasts site

Postby bigsewed » Wed May 20, 2015 10:34 am

Loads quickly with no issues...

.
User avatar
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 9:27 am
Location: Grand Island, Florida

Re: ProShow Enthusiasts site

Postby dsprincis » Wed May 20, 2015 11:43 am

Could it be a problem with Internet Explorer? It takes about 20 seconds to open ProShow Enthusiasts or to select a topic when I’m using Internet Explorer. But I switched over to Google Chrome as my web browser and now it loads quickly.

For me all the other sites load ok in Internet Explorer. I am just having problems with ProShow Enthusiasts while using Internet Explorer.

.
User avatar
Posts: 9321
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 12:37 pm
Location: E. Greenbush, NY

Re: ProShow Enthusiasts site

Postby BarbaraC » Wed May 20, 2015 12:02 pm

The browsers are always at war with one another. I swear, I've never heard anything good when it comes to either speed or compatibility when comes to Explorer, but for a while there, Chrome was winning the speed war. Currently, it seems to be Firefox, for which I've been a staunch supporter ever since whenever. With it, Enthusiasts loads instantly. The slowdown, when it occurs, is with posting, though it seems okay right now. Famous last words, right?

Barbara
The Frame Locker - styles, transitions, frames, backgrounds, & more.
Subscribe to Frame Locker News for alerts to new products.
How-to's: ProShowThink

.
Posts: 1710
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 5:28 pm
Location: near Chicago - Illinois USA

Re: ProShow Enthusiasts site

Postby heckydog » Wed May 20, 2015 4:52 pm

BarbaraC wrote:The browsers are always at war with one another. I swear, I've never heard anything good when it comes to either speed or compatibility when comes to Explorer, but for a while there, Chrome was winning the speed war. Currently, it seems to be Firefox, for which I've been a staunch supporter ever since whenever. With it, Enthusiasts loads instantly. The slowdown, when it occurs, is with posting, though it seems okay right now. Famous last words, right?

Barbara


+1 on everything you just said. I just posted a reply on that thread about PSP 7 and it was taking for ever to post. So I quickly did a Ctrl + A, Ctrl + C just in case it crashed. I didn't want to try and remember all the "wisdom" :roll: I had just written down. Then I get some weird gibberish about ihost or icanhost or something like that, but when I checked my post was there. whew!

Joe, also a Firefox aficionado for years.

Honorary ProShow PHD
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:18 am
Location: Nanaimo, B.c. Canada

Re: ProShow Enthusiasts site

Postby Rosemary » Wed May 20, 2015 6:45 pm

I use Internet Explorer and my daughter suggested Google Chrome. I downloaded it and now ProShow Enthusiasts site comes up in a couple of seconds. Well sleuthed Barbara.

Thanks everyone for an interesting thread.

Rosemary

.
User avatar
Posts: 4538
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 10:07 am
Location: Israel

Re: ProShow Enthusiasts site

Postby cherub » Wed May 20, 2015 9:26 pm

Using Firefox (of course :D ) and it's working well, with the exception of posting that takes forever.
I just posted something and saw the hosticam page for the first time, after waiting and waiting for my post to appear.
But my post did appear, finally, so all was well.
Editing the post was pretty fast though.

Funny, this thread is more popular (more posts) than the one with the new release :D

Next

Return to Odds & Ends

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests