Normalizing Audio Tracks

Post your requested features for future versions of ProShow Producer here.
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 3:09 pm

Normalizing Audio Tracks

Postby NuffRespeck » Wed Jun 06, 2012 3:53 pm

Greetings!! I am a new PS Producer user and I'm unable to locate a feature which will enable the normalizing of audio tracks used in a show. Is there such a feature, and/or is one being considered? :idea:

Esteemed Member
User avatar
Posts: 207
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 5:44 pm
Location: Pueblo West, Colorado

Re: Normalizing Audio Tracks

Postby skb1951 » Wed Jun 06, 2012 4:34 pm

Not sure what you mean by normalizing audio tracks. If you are referring to equalizing the volume on all the songs, there is a free app that has been mentioned on this site. It is called MP3 Gain. Just google it. It is very easy to use and works pretty good. Another free audio tool is Audacity.

Hope this helps.

Sue
Whether you say you can, or whether you say you can't....you're right!

Proshow Producer 5.0.322, Adobe Elements 8.0, Canon t2i

Honorary ProShow PHD
User avatar
Posts: 560
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2008 5:58 am
Location: Tonbridge, Kent. UK

Re: Normalizing Audio Tracks

Postby Studio7Productions » Sun Jun 10, 2012 1:46 am

Yes.... MP3Gain is the way to go, as if the music comes from different sources, they will probably be recorded at different levels, MP3Gain equalizes all tracks to the same db output....

http://mp3gain.sourceforge.net/download.php

Mel
PSP v 5: Adobe CS5 Extended:Sony Soundforge Pro 10: Canon 50D: Canon EOS 1000D: Nikon D40:

" Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm. "
Sir Winston Churchill

New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 3:09 pm

Re: Normalizing Audio Tracks

Postby NuffRespeck » Fri Jun 15, 2012 12:37 pm

Thanks all! Will try both applications suggested. :D :D

New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 6:35 am

Re: Normalizing Audio Tracks

Postby Roblevelo » Fri Nov 02, 2012 7:15 am

MP3 gain sounds interesting but do you apply the MP3 Gain before inserting a track into a show (which I don't think would work there being no comparison tracks) or do you equalise the whole track post production in which case how do you do that given that PSP doesn't produce a separate sound file incorporating all fades. Can someone please explain?

Honorary ProShow PHD
User avatar
Posts: 560
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2008 5:58 am
Location: Tonbridge, Kent. UK

Re: Normalizing Audio Tracks

Postby Studio7Productions » Fri Nov 02, 2012 8:23 am

you put all the audio files you are going to use in the show, into mp3 gain, prior to putting them in proshow.

if you are only using one audio file, there is no point.
PSP v 5: Adobe CS5 Extended:Sony Soundforge Pro 10: Canon 50D: Canon EOS 1000D: Nikon D40:

" Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm. "
Sir Winston Churchill

New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 6:35 am

Re: Normalizing Audio Tracks

Postby Roblevelo » Fri Nov 02, 2012 4:13 pm

Thanks, clearly going to need more advance planning, I often add them as I go along.

Honorary ProShow PHD
User avatar
Posts: 560
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2008 5:58 am
Location: Tonbridge, Kent. UK

Re: Normalizing Audio Tracks

Postby Studio7Productions » Fri Nov 02, 2012 5:26 pm

Audio is always the last thing I add..... mp3 gain only normalises tracks against each other, so you need to add more than one.. You make your fades etc after you have inserted them into proshoow.....
PSP v 5: Adobe CS5 Extended:Sony Soundforge Pro 10: Canon 50D: Canon EOS 1000D: Nikon D40:

" Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm. "
Sir Winston Churchill

New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 8:10 am
Location: New Jersey

Re: Normalizing Audio Tracks

Postby Ezra » Wed Dec 19, 2012 1:48 pm

Better yet, maybe they can work in some sort of audio level meter (besides the percentage for volume). This will allow you to adjust each song individually.

Ezra
System: Dell Inspiron 15 7000 series. Quad core i7 6700HQ Processor, 16gb DDR3L 1600mhz ram, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960m 4GB GDDR5 card, Samsung 500GB SSD Samsung c: drive + 1TB (5400rpm) Hybrid HDD with 8GB Flash cache. Windows 10 Home 64bit. Producer V6.

Return to PSP - Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest