New camera settings ?

Discuss photography techniques, equipment, etc. here.
Valued Member

New camera settings ?

Postby gus607 » Tue Dec 09, 2008 11:15 am

Can anyone offer advice please ?

Just got an early Christmas present, a Nikon D90. Looking for best menu set up suggestions if any one could advise.

Many thanks, gus.

dnmilikan

Re: New camera settings ?

Postby dnmilikan » Tue Dec 09, 2008 12:52 pm

I would set the color space to Adobe RGB 1998...not Adobe S RGB which is probably the camera's default setting. This provides a greater color gamut.

I have been shooting aperture priority for almost thirty years. It is a good system because one learns to consider depth of field by using that method. I don't shoot automatic or program ever, for anything.

Set your iso consistant with the lighting conditions...100 for bright light and higher for dimmer conditions. A good rule of thumb is to check the shutter speed for the chosen aperture and keep your shutter speed at no slower than 1 over the focal length of the lens for hand held shots.

Since I don't use Nikon I am not sure but if you can choose your metering. If you can choose then center weighted evaluative works well for me.

Shoot in RAW and process as either Tiff or PSB. This gives larger file sizes but does not shed information via compression as shooting in Jpeg does.

Good luck and enjoy your new camera.

Best wishes,
Don

Postby im42n8 » Tue Dec 09, 2008 2:07 pm

I take it you have no DLSR experience? If so ...