RAW or JPEG?

Discuss photography techniques, equipment, etc. here.
Valued Member

RAW or JPEG?

Postby Coconut » Sun Jan 31, 2010 7:06 pm

I am just learning about my Nikon D70....wow! so much to learn!!! but I love it! I went to a meet up group class and learned about ISO/Shutter speed/F-stop and metering....Yikes! Then went to a Sunset class....and now I had to learn about white balance....still trying to figure it all out, but with practice, I know I will eventually get it!

If you have any advice for me....I would appreciate it!!!!

I have read about RAW vs. JPEG.....but not sure which way to go. Help please!!!

I would love your input!!!!

Thank you,
Leslie

Re: RAW or JPEG?

Postby gpsmikey » Sun Jan 31, 2010 8:20 pm

There is no "one size fits all" - there are advantages to RAW and advantages to jpg. Raw has the advantage that you can fiddle with the white balance (among other things) after the shoot since the image itself is not corrected in RAW - only the camera settings are recorded as part of the RAW file (unfortunately, only the Nikon software can handle those embedded settings). RAW also has a greater dynamic range than the jpg does (you can recover more shadow and highlight detail typically). On the other hand, everything these days can handle jpg files and for most of your shooting, you will find jpg (large/fine) works just fine (that is what I normally shoot both my D70s and D300s at - jpg Large/Fine). You might want to consider joining the Nikonians forums ( http://www.nikonians.org ). Generally a good bunch there and lots of good info on all sorts of aspects of Nikon cameras, lenses etc (and they don't all agree on raw vs jpg either ! ). It is one of those things you need to spend some time looking at the pros and cons of both sides since there are features in both formats worth knowing about.

mikey
You can't have too many gadgets or too much disk space !!
mikey (PSP6, Photoshop CS6, Vegas Pro 14, Acid 7, BluffTitler, Nikon D300s, D810)