Analyzing photos

Discuss photography techniques, equipment, etc. here.
Esteemed Member

Analyzing photos

Postby just4fun » Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:12 am

I got a new camera for Christmas and am a real novice. It is a Nikon H50. I downloaded the manuel etc but some is still rather greek to me. It is very foggy here today, and it is 2:00 pm so my husband and I went out to the lake and I experimented with different settings including some of the manuel settings. I have downloaded the pictures but I am not sure what to "look" for. I have a fine arts degree so composition, color etc are familiar to me but it is the technical that I get lost in with photography. I imagine it is all subjective, such as sharpness or soft focus but how do I tell for example "out of focus" vs soft. I was wondering what you first look at when editing your own photos. Is it technical and then composition? I just don't know where to start in trying to develop a "eye for photography".
Vivian

Re: Analyzing photos

Postby Frankie » Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:22 am