Including Speaker Audio in Camtasia Capture

Discuss which third party applications you use to help create your slide shows using ProShow Gold. This is not a forum to promote other slide show software programs.
videogal

Including Speaker Audio in Camtasia Capture

Postby videogal » Sat Jul 19, 2008 4:44 am

I'm using that free program that Camtasia had a while back. I'm trying to record video with sound off the internet.
It will only record the screen, not the audio. What am I missing here? This is my first time trying to record the sound with it. Any suggestions appreciated.

videogal

videogal

Re: Including Speaker Audio in Camtasia Capture

Postby videogal » Sat Jul 19, 2008 5:25 am

I should also say that I tried this on two computers. In the "Recording Options" window the option to select
"speaker audio" is grayed out. And beneath that it says in gray Unable to Automatically Detect.(In the rectangle)

The input level (meter) on the right is not moving when audio is playing.

The basic function of Camtasia is recording video from the screen. I must have something switched off?

`videogal

Postby heckydog » Sat Jul 19, 2008 11:42 am

I think you might be talking about Camstudio. That program is free but it's not affiliated with Camtasia Studio by Techsmith.

Camstudio will record from a microphone for voiceovers, etc but not from your speakers. If you need to get your speaker sound I'd suggest using a program like Audacity which is also free. You'll have to sync the audio to the video after you're done recording but you will be able to do it all no cost. That's assuming that Camstudio will let you import audio tracks.

Joe

videogal

Postby videogal » Sat Jul 19, 2008 12:04 pm

Thanks for responding to my plea for help, Joe! This is definitely Camstatsia 3 by TechSmith.

~videogal

Postby heckydog » Sat Jul 19, 2008 12:58 pm