Legal Business Questions

Run your own business? Want to start one? Discuss business applications of ProShow Gold and Producer here.
Valued Member

Legal Business Questions

Postby photoshowstudio » Mon May 12, 2008 12:10 pm

Doing something i love and making a little money at it is nice, but I guess in getting my feet wet, I didn't realize just how much stuff I'd have to do or have to know about this. I assumed, wrongfully and maybe a little foolishly, that this is someything i could do from home and be very easy, not like I was a "real" business requiring legal documents and all. I doing more research I have found that I am required by my county to register as a general business, which is $107, but free for me as I am a veteran. Also, I am required to register a DBA (yep, had to dig up research on this one), which is "Doing Business As", since I do not use my name in the title of my business, which would cost me $30.

Now, I am in california and have been researching thier laws and will actually need to contact them to see if I have to obtain a business license from them too. I work another job, and live paycheck to paycheck. This is why I thought starting my own business would help bring in that extra income. It hasn't so far, but I am still green in the process and have hopes. I can't afford an attorney to guide me through this and do as much research as I can on the web, but this seems to BIG to me. How do I know that I filed to proper forms? How do I know that I even had to file the proper forms in the 1st place? Is what we do in need of a busines license?

I suppose I would have to just check with loval state and county governments, but if anyone here can help my make sense out of this, I would appreciate it.

Re: Legal Business Questions

Postby sheldonk » Mon May 12, 2008 12:38 pm