Hello! New to ProShow and have a question

Discuss anything ProShow Producer related

Hello! New to ProShow and have a question

Postby Deecey » Tue Nov 18, 2014 11:18 am

Hi everyone,

This is my first post here. I purchased ProShow Producer a couple of weeks ago so I am fairly new to it, and please excuse me if this question has been asked before.

I have a four-minute video of Christmas from 1962. I want to bring it into ProShow as one contiguous event, and then apply a template to it. A very suitable template is the projector movie template from the Vintage effects pack.)

But ... I want to add either text or captions that identify the people in the movie, and I can't quite figure out how to do this.

At first I thought I could load the video clip as a background and then just add various text layers that come in and out as needed in the video. However, it looks like you can only add IMAGES as backgrounds, and not movies.

I might be missing something. Can someone give me some pointers on the best way to tackle this?

Thanks in advance!

Re: Hello! New to ProShow and have a question

Postby im42n8 » Tue Nov 18, 2014 12:59 pm

Yes, the slide or show background feature of ProShow ONLY accepts images.

However, the LAST layer in the layer stack (as in, of all the layers placed on a slide; see "Layers" while in the slide options) can also function as a background. A video layer can be used slide background, therefore, The length of that layer can be the entire length of the time assigned to the slide (slide time). During this time, you can add as many layers above that layer as you want, including captions or text layers, graphics or solid/gradient layers or image layers. Just add the layer at a time and location of your choosing. Make that layer last as long as you need it to, within the time allotted to the slide.

Dale
What's New: Tools for ProShow: v11.42a Access ProShow capabilities Photodex doesn't provide (For PSG & PSP).